“I Ain’t Just Name Dropping!” – John 14:7-14†


Today in Catholic History:
†  305 – Diocletian and Maximian retire from the office of Roman Emperor.|
†  1218 – Birth of Rudolph I of Germany, Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire (d. 1291)
†  1555 – Death of Pope Marcellus II (b. 1501)
†  1572 – Death of Pope Pius V (b. 1504)
†  1987 – Pope John Paul II beatifies Edith Stein, a Jewish-born Carmelite nun who was gassed in the Nazi concentration camp at Auschwitz.
†  Feast Days: Feast of Saint Joseph the Worker, Saint James the Less, Saint Philip the Apostle, Saint Andeol, Saint Asaph, Saint Brieuc, Saint Sigismund of Burgundy, Saint Theodulf, Saint Augustin Schoeffer
   

  
Today’s reflection is about Philip asking Jesus to prove He is God.

Quote or Joke of the Day:

If Jesus didn’t rise, an even greater miracle happened.  Twelve relatively uneducated guys changed the world, and were martyred to protect a lie.
  

Today’s Meditation:

If you know me, then you will also know my Father.  From now on you do know him and have seen him.”  Philip said to him, “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.”  Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?  Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing his works.  Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else, believe because of the works themselves.  Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father.  And whatever you ask in my name, I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask anything of me in my name, I will do it.  (NAB John 14:7-14)
   

When Philip said, “show us the Father,” he is asking for a theophany (the appearance of a god in a visible form) like in Exodus 24:9-10; 33:18: “Moses then went up with Aaron, Nadab, Abihu, and seventy elders of Israel, and they beheld the God of Israel. Under his feet there appeared to be sapphire tile work, as clear as the sky itself.  Then Moses said, “Do let me see your glory!”  Philip still hasn’t realized that his friend: Jesus, IS God in His human form!  When is Phillip going to have his epinphany?

I can just picture Jesus being a little irritated by this time.  How sharp were His words when He said, “How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’!?  The Father, who dwells in me, is doing his works.  I am in the Father, and the Father is in me!”  Jesus is stating very plainly who He is.  He is God, and God is Him – Period!

Jesus is also exhorting that we need to perform good works, if we believe in Him.  It does not suffice to just believe in Him, in order to gain salvation.  If one truly believes in Jesus as our savior, and as God that came to earth in human form, then it would only be natural to want to share this revelation with all others we come into contact with.  The best way to communicate His saving grace is to live a life worthy; by helping others in their time of need, and by trying to see Jesus in all we meet.  St. Francis said “Preach the gospel, and if necessary, use words!”

Is it possible to surpass the good works Jesus did during His short life on earth?  He never travelled further than His homeland region, nor preached to people other than the Jews and gentiles of that region.  He only knew His native Aramaic, Greek, and Hebrew languages of the day.  Yet He says, “Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these.”  In less than 100 years after His death, the Christian Catholic religion had spread to all areas of the earth, and spoken in all languages.

That, in itself, is an impressive miracle!  But it shouldn’t have surprised anyone.  The last sentence of this gospel reading from today’s mass says it all: “If you ask anything of me in my name, I will do it.” 

“I am asking, in your name Lord Jesus Christ; please allow me to do your work in this life, so I may inherit eternal life with you in the next.”
  

Pax et Bonum
Dan Halley, SFO

*****
     

Catholic Saint of the Day:  St. Marculf
    

Marculf is also known as Marcoul. He was born at Bayeux, Gaul, at noble parents. He was ordained when he was thirty, and did missionary work at Coutances. Desirous of living as a hermit, he was granted land by king Childebert at Nanteuil. He attracted numerous disciples, and built a monastery, of which he was abbot. It became a great pilgrimage center after his death on May 1. St. Marculf was regarded as a patron who cured skin diseases, and as late as 1680, sufferers made pilgrimages to his shrine at Nanteuil and bathed in the springs connected with the church. His feast day is May 1.

 (From http://www.catholic.org/saints/ website)
    

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #1:
    

The Franciscan family, as one among many spiritual families raised up by the Holy Spirit in the Church, unites all members of the people of God — laity, religious, and priests – who recognize that they are called to follow Christ in the footsteps of Saint Francis of Assisi.

In various ways and forms but in life-giving union with each other, they intend to make present the charism of their common Seraphic Father in the life and mission of the Church.

 

 

Leave a Reply

