“Jesus, Who Am I; and Who Are You?!” – Jn 8:12-19†


It is a sad day in America.  We have thrown all our gold in the furnace and a golden calf called “obamacare” has come out.  God may have a sense of humor, but He is not laughing right now.  How many more infants are going to killed by this law, and how many elderly are going to be euthanized?
 

“My Predictions”
            01) A major increase in abortions, including “late term.”
            02) Euthanasia will be government “standard of care.”
            03) Multiple major lawsuits     based on constitutional reasons.
            04) Many hospitals (esp. Catholic) will close.
            05) Many physicians will retire or just quit.
            06) It will be harder to find a Primary Care Physician (PCP).
            07) Most PCP’s will not accept Medicare.
            08) Insurance premiums will be increased dramatically.
            09) Insurance Co-pays will also be increased dramatically.
            10) Many Insurance companies will shut down.
            11) Socialized medicine will be the “standard” in America.
            12) The $ will start a “dominoe effect” & will bankrupt America.
 

232 days till we get to voice our opinion on “Obamacare.”
       

Today’s reflection is about Jesus’ verification as the true Messiah

Quote or Joke of the Day:
 

The highest reward for a man’s toil is not what he gets for it, but what he becomes of it. — John Ruskin
 

Today’s Meditation:
   

Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”  So the Pharisees said to him, “You testify on your own behalf, so your testimony cannot be verified.”  Jesus answered and said to them, “Even if I do testify on my own behalf, my testimony can be verified, because I know where I came from and where I am going. But you do not know where I come from or where I am going.  You judge by appearances, but I do not judge anyone.  And even if I should judge, my judgment is valid, because I am not alone, but it is I and the Father who sent me.  Even in your law it is written that the testimony of two men can be verified.  I testify on my behalf and so does the Father who sent me.”  So they said to him, “Where is your father?” Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” (NAB Jn 8:12-19)

  

Jesus is the “light of the world.”  In saying this, Jesus is symbolically replacing the four torches that illuminate the Temple, with Jesus being the “light of joy.”  Jesus divided humanity into those that “come to the light,” and those that “prefer the darkness.”  When I die, I will make sure I am thinking, “Go to the light! Go to the light!”

The purpose of Jesus’ coming was to bring life through His death and resurrection.  The only way we can live is through Him!  He was sent for our salvation, and not for judgment or condemnation.  He is our Savior, our Shepherd, to guide us from this world, to His heavenly kingdom, and our salvation in His mercy.  

Jesus’ origin is questioned in this gospel reading.  It is obvious that there is a strong air of hostility towards Jesus.  But Jesus proves He was from the heavenly Father, and that He had a divine destiny.  When He said, “Where I am going,” indicates Jesus’ passion on the cross, and glorification at Easter that is soon to come.

Jesus does not judge anyone by material standards.  He is not of this world, but from a divine nature with God.  His judgment obviously will be from a heavenly standard, but a standard we can all meet.  Remember, we can only take our sole and our history of how we lived, to our final judgment.  Money, property, “the most toys”, etc. have no meaning once we leave this world.

He is asked to prove, to verify, His role as teacher and savior.  The “law” required two witnesses to have something verified as true.  Jesus states He has a witness: God, His Father!  Though the Temple elders may not believe Him makes no difference: Jesus and His Father verifies He is divine.

Jesus makes it very clear, in no uncertain terms:  your salvation is through Him, and through Him only!  The only way to know God is through Jesus, and only through Jesus!  The only way to salvation is through Jesus, and only through Jesus!  Are you kind of getting the theme here?

“Jesus, you do not have to verify yourself to me.  I believe in you with my whole heart, soul, mind, and body.  I only live through you, and you in me.  Amen.”
 

Pax et Bonum
Dan Halley, SFO

*****

Franciscan Saint of the Day:  St. Benvenute of Osimo
 

Saint Benvenute of Osimo, d. 1282 was a Franciscan bishop. He was born in Ancona, Italy, and studied law in Bologna, a fellow student of St. Sylvester. Appointed archdeacon of Ancona, he went on to become the bishop of Osimo, Italy. Before his episcopal ordination, Benvenutus became a Franciscan. He was canonized by Pope Martin IV. (Source: Catholic Online)

(From http://www.franciscan-sfo.org website)
 

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #22:
 

The local fraternity is to be established canonically. It becomes the basic unit of the whole Order and a visible sign of the Church, the community of love. This should be the privileged place for developing a sense of Church and the Franciscan vocation and for enlivening the apostolic life of its members.

Leave a Reply

