“I Have the Secret for Sinning!” – 1 Jn 2: 1-2


Fifty years ago today, the “Music Died!”   Buddy Holly, Ricky Valence, and the “Big Bopper” died in a plane crash.  My kids did not know who any of these great performers were!  I feel so old.

Today’s reflection is about sin, and how we can deal with it. 

Bible Study

Quote or Joke of the Day:

 

A quarrel is like buttermilk: once it’s out of the churn, the more you shake it, the more sour it grows. — Irish Proverb

 

Today’s Meditation:

 

My children, I am writing this to you so that you may not commit sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous one.  He is expiation for our sins, and not for our sins only but for those of the whole world.   (NAB 1 Jn 2: 1-2)

 

I may consider this the most important verse I have read in the bible so far.  I am a sinner, and I know of no one alive that is not a sinner.  Both of my parents were sin free, but have left this earthly presence to be with God in heaven?!  OK; maybe not sin free, but close to it!

Some people, including me, have used the term “human nature” when it comes to our tendency to sin.  This statement is wrong.  Our human nature was to be without sin, and our bodies were to be immortal.  Due to the sin that occurred in the Garden of Eden, known now as original sin, we lost our immortality.  We also became susceptible to the urges of the devil in the desires of body, vanity, and wealth.

God obviously loves his creations.  He did not destroy the third of His angels that mutinied, but only evicted them from heaven.  After the devil corrupted  Adam and Eve, he still did not destroy the prince of darkness, but created obstacles for them, and made man’s will capable and strong enough to defeat the devil.

Adam and Eve were not immune from Gods wrath with regards to disobedience.  Because of their sin, they also were evicted from their home, but given the knowledge and means to live a mortal life.  God also decided to come to earth in human form, to redeem us from sin, and to give us hope for our eternal future.

Jesus did not come for another 5000+ years after Adam and Eve’s incident.  Why did God wait so long?  Only He knows for sure: anything else is speculation.  God does not handle time the way we do.  I know somewhere in the bible is the phrase something like, “a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years is like a day.”  Eternity has no start or end time, and neither do we!

What I do know is this:

Jesus was born to a virgin free of sin;
He came to save us from original sin;
He was scourged, and crucified on the cross for our sins;
He died and was burried;
and on the third day He rose from the grave and ascended to heaven.

Our slates our cleaned if we believe in Jesus Christ as our advocate and savior from sin.  We still have tendencies to sin, but we also have the capabilities to ask for forgiveness.  God loves us so much that He will forgive us of anything if only we ask!

“O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all my sins, because I dread the loss of heaven, and the pains of hell; but most of all because they offend Thee, my God, Who are all good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of Thy grace, to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life.  Amen.”

 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

 

*****

 

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #3:

 

The present rule, succeeding “Memoriale Propositi” (1221) and the rules approved by the Supreme Pontiffs Nicholas IV and Leo XIII, adapts the Secular Franciscan Order to the needs and expectations of the Holy Church in the conditions of changing times. Its interpretation belongs to the Holy See and its application will be made by the General Constitutions and particular statutes.

Leave a Reply

