“I Didn’t Even See the Hangman’s Noose!” Psalm 116:3-4


It is Thursday in foggy Western West London (AKA Hazelwood, MO).  Fog for three days straight, with no let up has to be a record in this part of the midwest.

  

The Annual March for Life kicks off this Friday, January 22nd, in Washington, DC. If you are unable to join fellow Americans in Washington, DC you can still stand and be counted by going to www.VirtualMarchforLife.com now.  It’s very easy to do and will only take seconds. 

Bible Scroll

 

Quote or Joke of the Day:

  

FAITH is coming to the edge of all you know, and trusting God gives you something to stand on, or  teaches you to fly.

  

Today’s Meditation:

  

I was caught by the cords of death; the snares of Sheol had seized me; I felt agony and dread.  Then I called on the name of the LORD, “O LORD, save my life!”  (NAB Psalm 116:3-4)

  

Have you ever thought about your life, and what could be improved.  I hope so, as this is part of preparing for the Sacrament of Reconciliation.  Not only should one think about what sins occurred, but also how to improve their relationship with God. 

This process of review past problems, and changing your ways can upset some.  No one likes to dig up the past, and especially the bad stuff of the past.  On top of this is thinking about the future; and change is not normally a fun experience. 

When I was a little younger, I got caught up in some bad practices in regards to my faith.  I was tightening that noose around my neck, a lit bit more each day, and I didn’t even realize it at the time.  I had to have my feet kicked out from under me, in order to realize the dangers of my actions.  I was forced to think about my life and what I was losing, both in this existence, and with Jesus in the next. 

I went to church, and as the old cliché goes, I truly prayed for the first time in many years.  Why was I doing this?  The answer was solely because I was upset and scared: not because I wanted too!  I found comfort, for the first time, in praying and just sitting there with the Blessed Sacrament.  What a strange experience for me. 

That weekend, I went to confession for the first time in many years!  I was afraid the ceiling was going to fall on my head as I entered that little cubicle in the back of the Church.  I literally had forgotten how to go to confession.  The priest was kind and encouraging.  He directed me through a super experience in giving up my sins, and allowing Jesus to work in me, instead of building up the brick wall as I had in the past. 

That noose had slipped from my neck the instant I allowed Jesus to live in me.  Notice, I did not say “when I went to God.”  God was always there, looking over our shoulders; I just had to be open to Him, and ask for help.  God likes to hear from us often.  He is willing to hear us when we have problems, but He also loves to hear from us in the good times as well.  Talk to Him as you would any best friend: after all, He is your BEST friend! 

“Lord, I love that you are with me at all times.  I cannot hide from you, and would never want too.  Please help me stay on the path of righteousness, no matter how rocky, and twisted it can become.  Please be there when I fall, to help me up.  I truly do love you as my father, and my best friend.  Amen”

  

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

  

*****

  

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #21:

  

On various levels, each fraternity is animated and guided by a council and minister who are elected by the professed according to the constitutions.  Their service, which lasts for a definite period, is marked by a ready and willing spirit and is a duty of responsibility to each member and to the community.  Within themselves the fraternities are structured in different ways according to the norm of the constitutions, according to the various needs of their members and their regions, and under the guidance of their respective council. 

Leave a Reply

