“Where is That Darn Light Switch!” – Luke 8:16


It is Wednesday, and I am in good mood.  I pray all have a great day today, and that prosperity is prevalent in your lives today, as well.

The Annual March for Life kicks off this Friday, January 22nd, in Washington, DC. If you are unable to join fellow Americans in Washington, DC you can still stand and be counted by going to www.VirtualMarchforLife.com now.  It’s very easy to do and will only take seconds.

"Let There Be Light"

 

Quote or Joke of the Day:

  

My “check engine” light came on the other day. I popped the hood, and looked, the engine is STILL there! Silly light . . .

http://www.oneliners-and-proverbs.com/

  

Today’s Meditation:

  

“No one who lights a lamp conceals it with a vessel or sets it under a bed; rather, he places it on a lampstand so that those who enter may see the light.  (Luke 8:16)

  

I remember going on my first ACTS retreat a couple of years ago.  Prior to this retreat, I would have considered myself very religious, when  I was at best, only a cradle Catholic.  This weekend changed my life, literally.  When people tell you they were hit with the Holy Spirit, they are not necessarily exaggerating.  I am not in any way a Charismatic Christian, but I can now understand that feeling when inspired by ‘the spirit in me.’ 

When I came home, I continued with this journey of faith.  My kids have occasionally called me that ‘holy roller’ because several things in my life have changes.  I started going to mass often.  The Sacrament of Reconciliation is no longer yearly, but now attended at least monthly, and I pray more often than I have before in my life.  The light switch was turned on and I was responding to the word of God, and become a light to others.  

Someone once told me a story that I thought was appropriate for this reflection.  In the darkness of a stormy night at sea, when the storm is at its most fierce and scariest; a lighthouse burns its lights bright so that the sailors can find their way home with safety and reassurance.  In life, the same bright light burns.  This light is faith, hope, and love.  Through our most fierce storms and perils of life, these three virtues burn their brightest, so we also can find our way home, to God. 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

  

*****

  

Franciscan Saint of the Day:  Bl. John Baptist Triquerie

  

A Conventual Franciscan priest who was martyred for the faith in Lavel, France for refusing to take the “Oath of Citizenship” during the French Revolution.  Died at age 56.  Was beatified with others as the Martyrs of Laval.  

(From http://www.franciscan-sfo.org website)

  

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #20:

  

The Secular Franciscan Order is divided into fraternities of various levels — local, regional, national, and international. Each one has its own moral personality in the Church. These various fraternities are coordinated and united according to the norm of this rule and of the constitutions. 

  

  

Leave a Reply

