“Funerals are for Laughter!” – Ecclesiastes 3:7


Why is it on Mondays, it always seems so hard to get motivated.  Let’s change this and say TGIM instead of TGIF.  Carpe Diem WORLD!!!!

The Beatitudes

 

Quote or Joke of the Day:

 

“I am not capable of doing big things, but I want to do everything, even the smallest things, for the greater glory of God” (St. Dominic Savio)

 

Today’s Meditation:

 

A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to be silent, and a time to speak.  (Ecclesiastes 3:7)

 

As humans, we are all good at doing one thing instantaneously, and at most times prematurely.  That “thing” is being emotional.  Emotions play an important function in our lives, and is what separates us from most other creatures in the beautiful world.  Not only do we respond to the environment around us with an instinctive and automatic response, as other animals; we also respond emotionally. 

Our emotions is what forms our values and ethics.  If we don’t like or agree with something, we have several responses:

We can change that thing we don’t like, or
We can change, in order to tolerate or like that thing, or
We can learn to live with that thing, regardless of we feel about that thing, or
We can escape from that thing.

There is a time to be sad, and a time to rejoice.  As my example, I was upset my mother died last April.   My mother had cancer and was in hospice care.  Her death meant her physical pain was over; and it also meant that she was now with Jesus, in total peace and harmony, in paradise.  I know this, as she had confession and the Anointing of the Sick just prior to her death.  She had been forgiven of any sins she may have had on her soul.  Maybe that is why when mom took her last breath, she smiled and had an air of peace as she quietly slipped away from this world. 

Why I was upset, is what disturbed me so much.  I was upset because I would not see her again for probably (and hopefully) a long time.  I would not be making my 3-4 phone calls a week, as well as my routine trips to her apartment with household items and food for her.  I was in essence selfish of what I was going to miss in MY life.  My sad and angry emotion was based not on what my mother was gaining, but of what I was going to miss.

After realizing this, my attitude changed.  I was smiling at the funeral home; and some people thought I was in some weird stage of denial.  I was far from any type of denial.  I knew my mom was still with me in mind, heart, and spirit.  Mom was in the best possible place anyone could encounter, and I knew that she was happy.  The funeral wasn’t a place of mourning anymore for me.  It was a place to celebrate her life, and her new birth in heaven.

 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

 

*****

 

Franciscan Saint of the Day: St. Charles of Sezze

 

Born in Sezze (Latina) on 22nd October 1613, Giancarlo (this was his Baptism name) was forced to leave public schooling early in order to tend to and safeguard the herds, still maintaining and cultivating the deep Christian spirit instilled in him by his devout parents. The Love of the Cross and the Virgin Mary illuminated his spiritual way; Carlo entered the Franciscan convent in Nazzano on 18th May 1635, wearing the cloth of the Poor One from Assisi.

Loyal to the disposition of his superiors, he practiced his religious functions in the convents at Morlupo, Ponticelli, Palestrina, Carpineto, Saint Peter in Montorio, and Saint Francis in Ripa, always living by Franciscan humility and discipline. Brother Carlo always performed duties happily while collecting goods for the poor and giving assistance to the sick and needy. The Lord wanted to show recognition for Brother Carlo’s extraordinary faith. One morning, while he was participating in the Mass in the Church of Saint Joseph in Capo le Case, at the moment of the elevation of the Holy Eucharist, a bright ray of light coming from the Sacred Host struck and wounded Carlo in the heart, leaving him with a deep wound. Such was the sign of love received that the same brother described it this way: “It was between two extremes, that is between pain and sweet bliss, and it seemed as if the spirit wanted to leave the body. I would have sustained whatever great torment or any hardship because of the sweetness”.

Brother Carlo performed many miracles, such as curing the sick and multiplication of food. Stricken himself by disease, he died in the convent of Saint Francis in Ripa on 6th January 1670. On the spot where the Lord inflicted his love wound, a sign in the form of a cross began to appear after his death; this phenomenon is one of the miracles recognized by the Holy Congregation of Rites. Recognizing the miracles proposed for Beatification by Pope Pius IX, the same pope who put forth the decree for Beatification on 21st November 1875. Brother Carlo of Sezze was recognised a Saint of the Church on 12th April 1959.

 (From http://www.franciscan-sfo.org website)

 

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #18:

 

Moreover they should respect all creatures, animate and inanimate, which “bear the imprint of the Most High,” and they should strive to move from the temptation of exploiting creation to the Franciscan concept of universal kinship.

Leave a Reply

