“Are We the Fish, or the Hook?!” – Ecclesiastes 3:6


It’s sunday.  Making a great dinner: slow cooked italian beef with crusty bead.  Also taking two of the kids to see Avatar in 3D.  In other words, a pretty expensive day!

The "Beatitudes"

 

Quote or Joke of the Day:

  

 WARNING: Exposure to the Son may prevent burning.

  

Today’s Meditation:

  

A time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away.  (Ecclesiastes 3:6)

  

I love to fish.  I am not that fancy type of fisherman that uses expensive reels and lures, using underwater fish finders, and even satellite technology.  I would rather use a worm on a hook, with a bobber on the line, and a good drink in my hand; just watching the world go by as I sit in a folding chair near waters edge. 

I just love sitting there, and I do not get to upset if I am empty-handed at the end of the day.  I also like to catch a fish from time to time that puts up a good fight.  I remember the best “tug of skill and war” that I ever had, was catching a three-foot long gar that I hooked in the jaw.  That darn fish wasn’t even trying to get at my bait.  I hooked it by accident, as I was reeling in my line. 

I have caught many types and numbers of fish.  It is routine for me to catch and release fish these days as my wife and kids hate fresh fish!  I still love sitting there though, with the occasional fight, and the inevitable release of the fish to swim again. 

Life is a lot like fishing!  We are always fishing for experiences, for happiness, and for material wealth.  Whether it comes to love, employment, a specific car, or long-term tangible, we are the fisherman looking for that great catch.  Some of us fisherman use extravagant means to find these items; others use very low-tech approaches. 

As a paramedic, I did not use one of those fancy belt holsters that you see a lot of EMT’s and Paramedics have to carry scissors, clamps, flashlights, bite blocks, tape, and assorted tourniquets.  I carried a pair of scissors in my back pocket, a roll of tape on the stethoscope around my neck, and a penlight in another pocket.  Another paramedic I know carried so much ‘junk’ on him that the joke was he could stock a complete ambulance from his “bat-belt!” 

This world is a beautiful creation of God, and so are all living beings on this globe.  Smell the flowers, gaze at the stars, and watch the insects scurrying on their ways.  Take time to take a breath, and to watch the ocean slap against the shore.  Smile at your wife, and hold her hands, while sitting on the couch (with no ulterior motives).  In other words, stop using the fish finder all the time, and use a bobber occasionally. 

Our world is too hurried, and we are missing the little things that make it a great wonder and gift enjoyable.  No environmental “reduce, reuse, recycle” messages here.  Well, I guess I just did though, didn’t I?  All I am saying is that this is not only a great place to live; it is also the only place for us to live in the near future.   We have to be careful what we keep in the way of technology and materials; and we have to also be very careful about what we cast out (throw away). 

“Lord, we are stewards of your creations on earth.  Please help us to be a good protector and user of your resources.  Help us to strive in finding ways to stop our destruction of this world, and to sanctify our existence on this earth.  Amen.”

  

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

  

*****

  

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #17:

  

In their family they should cultivate the Franciscan spirit of peace, fidelity, and respect for life, striving to make of it a sign of a world already renewed in Christ.  By living the grace of matrimony, husbands and wives in particular should bear witness in the world to the love of Christ for His Church. They should joyfully accompany their children on their human and spiritual journey by providing a simple and open Christian education and being attentive to the vocation of each child. 

  

  

Leave a Reply

