“Mommy Knows Best!” – Proverbs 1:7-8


It’s Monday, and the kids have school today.  It’s going to be a great day.  The two are not coincidental at all!

Proverbs - Life Lessons

Quote or Joke of the Day:

 

“I am not capable of doing big things, but I want to do everything, even the smallest things, for the greater glory of God” ~ St. Dominic Savio

 

Today’s Meditation:

 

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; wisdom and instruction fools despise.  Hear, my son, your father’s instruction, and reject not your mother’s teaching.  (NAB Prv 1:7-8)

 

Are we to be terrified of God?!  Absolutely NOT; unless you like to sin!  “Fear of the Lord,” to me means having a reverential and loving obedience to the will of God.  I was not afraid of my parents, but I had a healthy respect of not getting them mad at me also.  This same paradox applies here.  I love Jesus, God and the Holy Spirit (all as one), but I know I don’t want to get Him upset with me.

When have I been upset with my children?  When they are foolish, and do something they know is wrong.  Mistakes happen, and in a loving way, I actually like when mistakes are made by my children at times, for it means they are learning at their greatest potential.  I firmly believe you learn more from mistakes sometimes.  But when one of my kids purposely does something they know is wrong, or will get them in trouble, they can rightly be called a fool as foolishness is a contrast between wisdom and folly. 

Parental teaching is the first school of wisdom.  I truly love the part of the verse that says not to reject your mother’s teaching.  A long-standing quote in my house, and probably many others is, “If mom ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!”  Moms have that special gift from God – that grace – to distill information in a gentile, loving, and permanent way.  A way that does not upset, and is never questioned by their children (as I have experienced so far).  I although sometimes have to fight tooth and nail, in order to get things through my son’s sometimes thick and impenetrable heads.

I have made the mistake of asking God for patience in dealing with my kids.  He has a sense of humor, and likes to challenge His children.  SO, now I ask on a daily basis:

“Lord, please grant me the grace to stay calm today only.  Please help me to keep my temper and blood pressure within a semi-normal range.  Please stay with me for today only, and I will repeat this prayer tomorrow regardless of what happens today.  Amen”

Also – Thank God for the Sacrament of  Reconciliation.  I use it a lot!!

 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

 

*****

 

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #11:

 

Trusting the Father, Christ chose for Himself and His mother a poor and humble life, even though He valued created things attentively and lovingly. Let the Secular Franciscans seek a proper spirit of detachment from temporal goods by simplifying their own material needs. Let them be mindful that according to the gospel they are stewards of the goods received for the benefit of God’s children.  Thus, in the spirit of the Beatitudes, and as pilgrims and strangers on their way to the home of the Father, they should strive to purify their hearts from every tendency and yearning for possession and power.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Resources for Proverbs 1:7 - 8

Leave a Reply

