“God Is Bigger Than The Boogey-Man! – Proverb 1:33”


I want to wish a happy 19th wedding anniversary to my beautiful wife, Jeanine.  My friend, and my soul mate.  I love her more each day.  When will the honeymoon end?

Week 1 of Advent

23 days till the BIRTH of CHRIST,

and this is the 3rd day of the ADVENT season.

“HO, HO, HO-ly God, We Praise Thy Name!”

 

Quote of the Day:

 

 When you get to your wit’s end, you’ll find God lives there.

 

Today’s Meditation:

 

 But he who obeys me dwells in security, in peace, without fear of harm.  (Prv 1:33)

 

I thought of the Veggietale song, “God is bigger than the boogey-man” while I was meditating on this this passage.   I had to sing this song every night for over four years to one of my sons, in order for him to go to sleep in his bed.  He was also comforted that his mother and father were their for him at an instant notice; and sometimes even before he knew he needed help.

Our heavenly father and mother, Jesus and Mary, are also there for us whenever we need them; even when we don’t know we need them.  All we need is to be open to there intervention and support.  Just as our children don’t sometimes understand or like our answers, we don’t always understand or like the answers we are given from our heavenly parents.  We just have to trust in their majesty and perfection.

Jesus, give me the strength to follow you on this rocky path of life.  Give me the fortitude to complete this journey.  And finally, give me the love and patience to take this journey in such a way as to bring others with me.  Amen.

 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

*****

 

Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule #1:

 

The Franciscan family, as one among many spiritual families raised up by the Holy Spirit in the Church, unites all members of the people of God — laity, religious, and priests – who recognize that they are called to follow Christ in the footsteps of Saint Francis of Assisi.

In various ways and forms but in life-giving union with each other, they intend to make present the charism of their common Seraphic Father in the life and mission of the Church.

Leave a Reply

