“Humility Is Not Always Easy: The Canticle of the Sun by Francis of Assisi (day 14 of 14)”


24 days till the BIRTH of CHRIST,

and this is the 2nd day of the ADVENT season.

“HO, HO, HO-ly God, We Praise Thy Name!”

 

Quote of the Day:

 

 Peace starts with a smile.

 

Today’s Meditation:

 

The Canticle of the Sun by Francis of Assisi (day 14 of 14):

… Praise and bless my Lord, and give thanks, and serve him with great humility.

 

To me, this is the overall philosophy of St. Francis.  “Preach the Gospel, and if necessary, use words.”  The only way to preach the gospel this way is to actually live the gospel in your actions.  This conversion will lead to a humble approach to god, and to others. 

Jesus loved the down-trodden.  God said that the meek will inherent the earth.  The act of love means that you will allow the one you love to take the lead unconditionally.  All are excellent examples of true humility.

Humility probably has been my hardest virtue to achieve.  I have always been ‘the leader.’  My training as a Paramedic and educator called for taking the ‘superior’ role, and directing others.  I never thought of humility until becoming a Secular Franciscan, but through my journey, I have learned to be humble, while still directing and educating.

Thank you Lord for teaching the way to humility in life.  I wish to do your will always.  Please be with me to help me with the virtue of humility.  Amen.

 The full text of “The Canticle of the Sun” can be found at many web sites

including: http://www.poverello-society.org/prayer_canticle.htm.

 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

*****

 

From the Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Rule Prologue, Chapter 1:

 

… “Oh, holy Father, protect them with your name (cf. Jn 17:11) whom you gave me out of the world. I entrusted to them the message you entrusted to me and they received it. They have known that in truth I came from you; they have believed that it was you who sent me. For these I pray, not for the world (cf. Jn 17:9). Bless and consecrate them, and I consecrate myself for their sakes. I do not pray for them alone; I pray also for those who will believe in me through their word (cf. Jn 17:20) that they may be holy by being one, as we are (cf. Jn 17:11). And I desire, Father, to have them in my company where I am to see this glory of mine in your kingdom” (cf. Jn 17:6-24).

Leave a Reply

