“Oh Blessed Virgin Mary, Please Help Me Mommy!”


I think today’s Humor statement is appropriate since I cannot remember when we had more than 1 day of sunshine at a time, while having MANY days in a row of rain.  In the St. Louis area the meteorologists have said that many, many records have been broken.  I guess we should be thankful for the rain though.  It could be SNOW!

 

Humor of the Day:

 Plan ahead;

It wasn’t raining when Noah built the ark.

 

 

Today’s Meditation: 

From the Memorae Prayer

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to your protection, implored your help,  or sought your intercession was left unaided. …

 

Mary IS our mother in heaven.  As Jesus is with us, so is Mary.  All Mary wants is to comfort us during our times of trial, and to smile and laugh with us during our happy times. 

Most people see Mary in flowing gowns of blue and white, with a crown on her head, and in a ‘royal’ posture of a queen.  I see Mary differently.  One of the most beautiful pictures of Mary I have is a very simple portrait of Mary with a bandana type cloth wrapped around her hair; and an apron over her ‘regular’ dress of that period of time.  Mary is hanging the laundry on a line, a basket of clothes next to her on the ground.  Next to Mary, sitting on the ground, is the baby Jesus with His back to you.  Apparently, He is not wearing any clothes as you can see the very top of His ‘backside’ (I call it a plumbers view).  You sense that this is Jesus, as He is holding a small wooden cross.

This view of Mary is comforting to me.  Yes, she is ‘royal’ and the mother of all; ruling with Jesus in heaven as a queen.  But this portrait also reminds me that she is also that loving mother who will jump and come to the aid of her earthly children – US –  the second we yell “MOMMY!”

 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

*****

From Secular Franciscan Order (SFO) Prologue, Chapter 1:

… Oh, how glorious it is to have a great and holy Father in heaven! Oh, how glorious it is to have such a beautiful and admirable Spouse, the Holy Paraclete.

Oh, how glorious it is to have such a Brother and such a Son, loved, beloved, humble, peaceful, sweet, lovable, and desirable above all: Our Lord Jesus Christ, who gave up his life for his sheep (cf. Jn 10:15) and prayed to the Father saying:

… “Oh, holy Father, protect them with your name (cf. Jn 17:11) whom you gave me out of the world. I entrusted to them the message you entrusted to me and they received it. They have known that in truth I came from you; they have believed that it was you who sent me. For these I pray, not for the world (cf. Jn 17:9). Bless and consecrate them, and I consecrate myself for their sakes. I do not pray for them alone; I pray also for those who will believe in me through their word (cf. Jn 17:20) that they may be holy by being one, as we are (cf. Jn 17:11). And I desire, Father, to have them in my company where I am to see this glory of mine in your kingdom” (cf. Jn 17:6-24).

Leave a Reply

