“Prayer & Death”


This past weekend was a special time for all Franciscans.  Starting a new week after refreshing our Franciscan charism is the start of a glorious week working through, and with God in our hearts.

God does have a sense of humor.  I am finally starting to feel better, from my bought of pneumonia, and now have one of my children home with the flu.  I don’t know why I am being graced with these tests of body and faith, but I’ll handle it with God’s grace as well.

Today’s Meditation:

[Hail Mary] … Pray for us now and at the time of our death.  Amen.

Many people, including some Catholics, have a problem with Marian prayers and veneration.  Why should we pray to anyone other than God?  Go directly to the source!  Talk to God directly! And it can go on and on.

Asking Mary to pray for us, to intercede,  is only natural if put in the proper perception.  Most of us have asked others to help us in our daily lives.  It could be asking a clerk in a grocery store where an item is; it could be getting your best friend to put a word in his sisters ear that his friend wants to date; or even being placed on a prayer chain for your health. 

I think it is rather ironic that the same people who have a problem with praying to Mary will have no problem with “praying over” someone: It’s the same thing.  Mary, to me, is the ultimate in having on a prayer chain.  When I get to Jesus for my final judgement, I picture Jesus saying one of two things to me:

1)  Dan, You talked to me daily, and asked a lot of me.  But, did you give a lot to me. 

OR

2)  Dan!  I remember you!  You talked to me every day. But  you also talked to my mother every day as well, and she has a lot to say about you.  If your good in her book, your good in mine as well.  I’m not going to get my mom mad at me.  Come on in and let’s talk.

Which conversation would you like to have with Jesus at your time of judgement?

 

Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

SFO Rule #5:

Secular Franciscans, therefore, should seek to encounter the living and active person of Christin their brothers and sisters, in Sacred Scripture, in the Church, and in liturgical activity. The faith of St. Francis, who often said, “I see nothing bodily of the Most High Son of God in this world except His most holy body and blood,” should be the inspiration and pattern of their Eucharistic life.

Leave a Reply

