“Who’s Talking”


Good Sunday to all.

Today’s Meditation:

Happy is the man whose words issue from the Holy Spirit & not from himself. (St. Anthony)

After reading the 1st Reading, and the Gospel for today, this meditation is a “God Wink”, since it is about the same thing.

The Holy Spirit, more so than not, works very mysteriously.  How often have we said to ourselves that something done or said was the perfect thing for the situation, and wonder how you came to say those words, or did that particular thing.

One of the most unnerving and stressful things to do as a paramedic is to tell loved ones that their beloved is dead.  I firmly believe that this is a time when the Holy Spirit is with us, and helps us to interact with the living members of that persons “family.” 

I remember having to write a speech on “Evangelization in the Catholic Church” recently.  Those that know me, knows I have the gift of gab, but I in no way can coherently talk about this subject at any length.  Or so I thought!  I sat at my kitchen table with a pen and a legal pad with no idea how to start, and what to say. 

I finally said (I believe out loud), “OK Lord, if you want me to give this talk, you need to help me write it as well.”  Suddenly, a trivial thought came to mind, and I started writing it down. Then another, and another, and so on.   When I was done, I had a lecture that was over an hour long.  I only had a maximum of 45 minutes for my talk, so I had to delete material that I really did not want to get rid of for this talk.

These are only two examples of how I believe the Holy Spirit has helped me, but there are many more – most of which I believe were done without my knowledge.  All you have to do is allow Christ to live in you, and allow the Holy Spirit to work through you.

 Pax et Bonum

Dan Halley, SFO

Leave a Reply

