“Hoeing the Garden”


Meditation for today:

St. Francis was hoeing his garden when asked what he would do if he knew he would die at sunset. He replied, “I would finish hoeing my garden.”

The first time I read this, I though St. Francis was being non-committal, and that he certainly would not continue just working in his garden.  It took some time for my synapses to start firing and think of this profound statement from a Franciscan and/or christian mindset.

St. Francis live every day not only praying and thinking of God, but also having God with him in every aspect of his life.  With the piety that St. Francis had, and eluded; why would he do anything different if he knew he was going to be with God, instead of God being with him?

In other words, Francis was ALWAYS prepared to go to God.  I would love to say that I am; but that would be a humongous falsehood (a down and out lie).  I have found myself, at times, rationalizing my errors by thinking, ‘I’m a sinner just like everyone else, so God will forgive me.  After all, for the most part I am a good guy and love God.’

How wrong I am.  I NEED conversation – a reawakening of my faith – on a daily basis.  I need to thank God for all the gifts and graces He has bestowed on me, and more importantly, I need to ask for forgiveness and help from Him in doing what is right ON A DAILY BASIS.

One day at a time.  That is what it takes.  Here is another prayer to help me through the day:

Just For Today

 Oh, God, give me grace for this day.  Not for a lifetime. Not for this week. Not for tomorrow, but just for this day.

 Direct and bless everything I think and speak and do for just this one day, so that I have the gift of grace that comes from your presence.

 Oh God, for today, just for this day, let me live generously & kindly, in a state of grace and goodness that denies my many imperfections and makes me more like you.

Leave a Reply

